Magazines

Which ones do you read/subscribe to and why?

Anyone that comes to my house for free.
Because its free.

I dont think I have paid for a video game sub for about 3 years now. Same with FHM and Maxim.

Playboy

That’s about it nowadays

Chronicle of Higher Education and Computer Games Magazine plus some academic journals.

The Ziff Davis gaming magazines are coming to my house for free now, but when that expires I will subscribe to CGW.

Troy

I have a free subscription to CGW and I’m about to renew PC Gamer US.

edit - Oh and the why…

I found a way to get a free subscription to CGW on SlickDeals so I figured why the hell not? I haven’t even been inundated with spam so it’s worked out well.

I started getting PC Gamer in January 1999 and I enjoy the writing and the people. I didn’t renew my subscription last year but I plan on doing so this week. I don’t suppose there’s much hope of a DVD edition for subscribers any time soon.

Old House Journal
Newsweek
Game Developer

I need to re-up my game rag subs; I’ve been grabbing them from the newsstand, but that’s expensive when you do it every month. Ditto for Shonen Jump and Cooking Light. Things I pick up more irregularly:

The Artist’s Magazine
Wine Spectator
Computer Arts and it’s ilk

Free subscriptions to CGW and EGM, cheap subscription to CGM because everyone who writes for it posts here, pretty much. Mother Jones and The Progressive because they’re both… uh… pretty good.

Computer Games
Computer Gaming World
PC Gamer
Discover
Scientific American
Aviation Week & Space Technology
Janes Defence Weekly
Maximum PC
Against the Odds
Wired
National Geographic
National Geographic Adventure
Men’s Journal
Outside
MAKE
ESPN The Magazine
Popular Science
Now Playing (I think)

It’s a lot… many of these I get through various online sites that have major discount programs that utilize spam mail basically… but it gets filtered to a nonsense email account so like I care, sure, why not, a $5 sub.

— Alan