Microsoft, Apple sued for offering online updates

Companies accused of infringing a patent that covers Web-enabled software update technologies

BTG (Britain) and Teleshuttle (NY) claim to hold a patent on… updating software over the Internet!

Anyone knows what exactly is covered by this patent?

McAfee is goin down!

They are going to have a really hard time going anywhere with this case, I’ll wager. Hundreds–and possibly thousands–of software companies have been providing online updates for many years. I’m not sure how patent law works, precisely, but if it’s anything like copyright law, you have to enforce your rights as intellectual property owner in order to keep them.

Do any of the lawyer types here know anything about this–how much leverage would you have in a patent case if you allow your patented system to become common industry practice, and then let just about every other company in the industry use it for years before you said anything?

I’m not a lawyer, but last I checked there was no “in common use for last several years” stipulation like there is for copyrights.

The way out of this for AOL/Microsoft is to show prior work (there’s a technical term here I’m forgetting) existed before the patent was filed, thereby making the patent invalid.

Anyway, good luck to those guys. I seriously doubt they’ve got a legit patent though.

I checked the patent filing on the USPTO web site. Accorinding to the abstract, it’s a patent for remotely distributing software updates by providing a list of software to choose from based on what is already installed on the local computer. It’s not a patent on software distribution over the net in general.