Mid-Life Career Changes

I know a couple of people have posted about how to break into the games industry, but I’m curious how you go about effecting a real career change when you’re already half-way through a particular career path but aren’t enjoying it.

I’m a development officer at a mid-sized Canadian university. I fell into this work because I was good with people at the smaller department where I worked as a communications manager (and where I graduated from with a BA in Music). After doing this for five years I’ve come to the realization that I really, really hate asking people for money for a living. It pays very well compared to other university support staff positions—but it also means a great deal of responsibility and stress.

My first love is computers. I love building them, installing new software, working out the little bugs that computers and networks have when things go wrong. I love going to my friends homes and fixing their computers for them. I loved the creative design side of my old job and was pretty good at designing brochures and websites.

But I have no idea about how to move from one 15-year career path to a completely different career path where I have no formal training—all it’s ever been is a hobby. My friends tell me I should do this for a living—but how do I give up a job that pays $75,000 CDN a year and start over as a first-year tech support person probably working for barely above minimum-wage? Would some kind of A+ or MCSE certification help me land a better job? I can’t afford to go back to school and get a full computer science degree so programming is probably out. Is this even something I should even be considering when I’m half-way to retirement and a full pension? The money isn’t important to me but I do need to keep paying off my mortgage.