Monster Hunter PSP: Ten tips I wish I'd known when I started playing

1. Don’t try to do the missions inside the guild hall! Until you get better equipment, they’re for multiplayer games. Talk to the little short dude standing outside the front door to get your missions. Do each of the one-star missions for your tutorial.

2. Sell all that stuff your gathering. All of it. Yeah, those expensive Kuat-Ki Scales or whatnot look like they might come in handy later, but forget it. Sell them. You need money now to upgrade a weapon. Don’t worry about being a packrat until later. BTW, you can sell stuff directly from the inventory box in your house.

3. Don’t waste your money on armor just yet. First upgrade a weapon, ideally the short sword.

4. Don’t fuss at all with the crossbow. It’s not going to help you and you’re just going to waste your money if you upgrade it. I know it looks pretty sexy, but the crossbow simply isn’t a viable weapon for solo gameplay, at least early in the game.

5. The meat cooking isn’t that important early on, since the missions will give you free rations. But you still want to learn to cook raw meat into well-done meat and then sell it. To peg the timing, firstly, you must know that the tutorial is a filthy liar! The circle button has no place in meat cooking. Tap out the beats of the music (one-TWO-one-TWO-one-TWO). As soon as the music ends, press the X button at the moment the next TWO beat should have come in.

6. Don’t think you’re going to play each mission once, move on to the next mission, and eventually finish them one after the other. Monster Hunter isn’t about finishing the missions, it’s about kitting out your hunter. The missions are there for you to replay. Keep doing the Velociprey hunting mission. On level two, the Sootstone theft is good for replaying.