Motherboard - What to Look For

I’m thinking of building a computer from scratch – something I’ve never done before. I’ve got some idea on how to pick most of the components such as the CPU and hard drive, but I have very little idea what I should be looking for in terms of a motherboard. I know the motherboard has to match the CPU, but that’s about the extent of my knowledge. What other characteristics should I be considering when picking a motherboard?

Don’t buy a via or SIS chipset. That’s 90% of what you need to know. Stick with Intel for Intel, or Nvidia for AMD.

Board size - You want one that’s right for the case, so if you’re using an ATX case, you don’t want a BTX board. Some boards are smaller and meant for small form factor systems (e.g., microATX), and although a lot of them would still fit in larger cases, they usually skimp on features so you probably want to avoid them as well.

Total memory capacity - Some boards only have two or three slots, if you’re thinking of expanding in the future. Also, there may be restrictions on memory speeds and vendor compatibility. You can google around on particular combinations to see if anyone’s had trouble or check the online manual for the board.

PCI/PCIe slots - Make sure it has enough for any other cards you’re adding or might want to add in the future.

RAID support - If you’re thinking of using RAID, most boards have it nowadays, but there may be restrictions (e.g., it might only be available on the SATA ports, or you can’t mix SATA and IDE).

SLI suport - If you can see yourself one day going for SLI cards, there are two completely different systems, ATI’s and Nvidia’s, and the motherboard has to support the one you want.

Drive connectors - Most boards nowadays will have both SATA and IDE connectors, but some only have a single IDE connector, if you intend to hook up more than one old drive.

Other misc features - Some boards have built-in support for some other optional stuff like WiFi.