My new macbook pro keeps chiming, making me so unhappy (sad face)

I can’t remember if I’ve posted about this already, but if I did I apologize for putting it in a new thread and asking again. I am new to OSX, but I am happy to be off the Microsoft stack. I am mostly pleased with everything about my laptop, but this chiming thing is driving me nutty.

I looked in the sounds control panel and the chime I’m hearing isn’t one of the default sounds.

I turned off all sound notifications in the notification center (everyone wants to make a sound!), and that has quieted things down immensely, but here is the problem: I will be working or reading or doing some activity that requires close concentration and suddenly my MacBook will chime. I look at the dock and nothing is jumping. No little red number alerts have changed. There is no indication what program or app is trying to get my attention, but my attention has been gotten. It’s just so maddening because I’m not sure how to figure it out. I looked in the little notification dealie that slides out from the right, but there is nothing new in there. It wouldn’t be so bad to get the occasional ding, if I could ascertain at a glance what the computer was trying to tell me. As it is, it’s just baffling and it reminds me that I’m an OSX newb.

What can I do to track this down?

record it with your iphone.

That’s real strange. Are you sure you don’t have a chat client on or something? I assume you’ve done the whole “shut off as many apps as possible” thing so you can eliminate possible problems?

My MBP is silent except IM, which makes a chime on the first new message…because I want it that way.

I wish I could help, but my MacBook pro never chimes. Well, I think it’ll ding once on reboot, but that’s it. I have the master sound on for listening to podcasts, but nothing else ever chimes.

You should be looking in the Notifications control panel, Tim.