MySQL 4 noobs

Can a total noob with no server experience and who’s used MS Access (no SQL experience) all his career learn, setup and use MySQL by myself without training? How hard is it?

I don’t need to set up a webpage, I just need a better database storage place, plus data manipulator than MS Access.

Any good books out there too?

Use command line to install mysql and php. Then use phpmyadmin to admin the mysql install. If you did sql selects in access, you can do them here, phpmyadmin is a decent interface to the system, command line only or the provided tools will make you rip your hair out.

Chet

You could also get PostgreSQL. It supports the majority of ANSI standards and when you buy a book for that RDBMS it won’t be babying you.

There are lots of client-side solutions as well, which will look prettier than phpMyAdmin so you might want to look for those over a server-side administrating tool ;).

phpMyAdmin looks pretty enough.

I used the MySQL Control Center (mysqlcc). It works, but I’m not a database guy, I just followed the plug & chug instructions when I installed Bugzilla.

I’m asking for trouble by saying so, but I wouldn’t consider MySQL to be a significantly better database than MS Access. What problems are you having with Access?

He could. Or, he could get a DBMS that will actually enforce constraints and not mangle data. Like PostgreSQL.

Another option would be to install the MS SQL Server Desktop Engine and use Access as the front end.

Do yourself a favor and try out Navicat. It’s a Win32 application that allows for easy MySQL administration including data loads from .xls files and whatnot. I realize this is all possible from the MySQL command line or from PHPMyAdmin, but if you don’t care to learn all of the arcana then just skip it and use Navicat.