NAS NAS Baby

I’ve finally put together the hardware for my NAS server, but I am still undecided on how to set things up.
I was hoping ideally, that I would be able to use the machine as a traditional server, as well as a NAS.

Does anyone have any recommendations or thoughts?

What do you hope to do with it besides file shares / network drives? Backups? What kinds of “traditional server” uses? Apps? Mail? Webserver? Virtualization? Containers? Hopefully you thought some about needs and how to set things up, before getting the hardware.

I’d like to setup some basic web services (a database for sure, maybe apache and etc too) for local access. I also want to be able to use the server for software development - coding/compiling/etc.
But most importantly, I want to have reliable file storage with error checking and redundancies. I have 8 HDs installed, I had planned on going with something equivalent to RAID 10.
I’ve no experience with containers, but I might like to tinker with them eventually.

I built the machine with a 5700X and 64GB of ECC RAM.

Just found TerraMaster tonight as a reasonably priced alternative brand to Synology and QNAP.

For a build-your-own hardware server/NAS setup, most will recommend TrueNAS Scale, or maybe Unraid.

I have also used OMV, but only for a small fileserver/media server on a tiny ARM.

RAID6 with a hot spare.

Probably don’t even need a hot spare in your home system. I pretty much just have them so I can ignore them problem until Monday.

I had originally planned on going with TrueNAS - but I’m having a hard time understanding exactly what the end result would look like. From what I’ve read, I won’t be able to use it like a traditional linux distro (I won’t be able to just install regular software, or setup services or anything)?

I was looking for performance, as I’ll be working off the NAS for all my video/photo editing. Why use RAID6?