NY Times tackles board games

I’m not a board gamer myself, but I found this article intriguing. It seemed like about as serious and respectful a take on the world of geekdom as you’re likely to see in the Times.

Anyway, I was curious as to what the board gamers among us think of the portrayal, and it also got me thinking about wading into the hobby. What’s a good place to start for a total novice, especially one hoping to recruit some equally novice friends to play with him?

Where do you live? If you live in a populated urban area, check www.boardgamegeek.com for conventions and other groups in your area. In any case, boardgamegeek is the online destination of board gamers all over the world and is very helpful for getting started with boardgaming.

Search the Geeklists for the word “gateway” and you’ll get plenty of lists of so called ‘gateway’ games that should be fine for novices. There are certain topics on there that may get you embroiled in a lot of controversy, so avoid saying things like “Monopoly is the greatest game ever”, “I like to game with my wife and I do everything possible to make sure she wins” 'There are too many WWII games", stuff like that.

Welcome to boardgaming! I’m a 24 year veteran of the hobby and still love it, in fact I’m going to the infamous Gathering of Friends for eight days of non-stop boardgaming. It’s a lot of fun, not a lot of money, and for the most part the people are very nice and friendly:)

The best thing is to look for an existing group near you and see if you can join. Finding one is the hardest part. Once you have a regular group of people to play with everything else should fall into place.

Although you don’t need to find a specific boardgaming group if (and I know this sounds strange) you already have friends. Assuming the friends are interested in boardgames enough to give 'em a good try, anyway.