Ok, new gaming PC finally.. What did I miss?

Just picked up an ok gaming PC the other day finally… 6600 GT, 1 gig, Athlon 64, etc…

It’s been about a year, I would estimate, if not more.

Now, I grabbed Far Cry and Painkiller because I’ve heard they both kick ass.

What else did I miss? Half-life 2, Doom3… etc?

WoW

Rome: Total War

I missed Half-Life 2 too. Even though I bought it. I mean I started playing it and then 10 hours later it was over. Geez.

Pick up the PC port of The Chronicles of Riddick: Escape from Butcher Bay. It’s superb and looks as good or better than Half-Life 2 and Doom 3.

As far as looking better than HL2 or Doom 3, I’d say that while it’s at least close to as good looking, that’s made largely irrelevant when you realize it’s just a much better game entirely. I could see a case for HL2 looking better than Riddick because of the different environments it has, but really, Riddick is so much more fun than either game it doesn’t matter.

Can we just call this thread ‘PC Games I Liked’?

Also, should we start a separate one for Xbox and PS2? I would also recommend a Gamecube thread, but I haven’t seen Dave Long around in a while, so there might not be enough material for that one.

-Tom

Play these games/

IGN editor’s choices? They had nine in last March alone. How discriminating…

Why didn’t you just link him to EB or send him to Mobygames?

Troy

I wasn’t going to click on it, because I thought it might go to some Freddie Prinze Jr. fansite, but it seems the list Jose linked is confined to the games that scored in the 8-9 range of the 7-9 scale.

-Tom

The 8.3 to 9.7 scale to be precise, reaching all the way back to 1998.

There aren’t any truly bad games on the list, but if someone asks me today which games they should play, Caesar III is not going to be one of my first picks.

I should contribute here, though, and echo the recommendation of Rome: Total War. Sims 2 is also a must play in my book.

Troy

Silent Hunter III.

Jesus F. Christ