OMG Oblivion I want to flip out and kill people

You know how it is when you get a new RPG. Somehow just picking up the box gives you an idea of what kind of character you’ll be THIS time. WoW, I was a gnome engineer mage. Dungeon Siege II, I was a two-handed half-giant melee monster.

Oblivion, I want to be a ninja and flip out and kill people. I’ve never played a total assassin before – always been a goody two-shoes – but maybe it’s time to make a change.

So, I just bought the game, but probably can’t play it until tomorrow night (work today, then an old friend in town for one night only tonight and have to play Illuminati with him, then work again tomorrow). But at least I can post here and have people toss out their suggestions. The below is based on the rulebook only…

Main dilemma: clearly the stealth skills are the most important (sneak, acrobatics, light armor, marksman). But also some other areas look good too (illusion, alteration, hand to hand, athletics). So, what are the best tradeoffs? It looks like it breaks down this way:

Speed governs Athletics, Light Armor, Acrobatics.
Agility governs Marksman, Security, Sneak.
Personality governs Illusion, Speechcraft.
Strength governs Hand to Hand.
Willpower governs Alteration.

So that looks like speed and agility are the most important. But man, I really want me some of that hand-to-hand and illusion goodness…

Is that the right way to break this down? Isn’t it kind of hosed to have Hand to Hand governed by Strength? Can you be a good ninja with good H2H skill even if most of your ability points are in Speed or Agility? Also, the eternal dilemma of the unarmed RPG character is all the super bodacious weapons you have to pass on… are there good toys for the H2H character in Oblivion?

Discuss!

Yes. Yes you can.

Ah the virgin enthusiasm of youth…

I have a feeling that Garrett or Riddick are going to have another trip through Tamriel tonight when I get home…