Oxygen Not Included: Klei space colony sim

Interesting video. It’s pure gameplay without commentary, but it’s played bit a bit, pausing in tooltips, in a way you can see what type of game it is. You manage O2/CO2 levels, energy and calories consumption, crew stress, water and temperature, organic refuse, gas seems to spread from tile to tile following pressure rules, it seems pretty interesting, combining what it seems a well done entry in the ‘management sim’ genre with cute graphics and UI and micro well controlled, with features and notions that cribs enough of what would make space colonization unique…

Side-view RimWorld with a dash of the Klei secret sauce? And tactical combat replaced by what looks to be a greater focus on toilet-related activities? Could be good!

Yes, this looks good. Day 1 monies are your Klei.

I just started playing Craft the World, and this looks like a space version of that type of game play.

If it’s from Klei, I’m in.

I keep hoping there will be a game like this that reels me in. I felt completely lost with Don’t Starve, but this has more the feel of a mining game.

ALPHA!

$20

So is the alpha a separate entry on Steam? When I click on the game via my wishlist it has no option to purchase. When I do a search it does not find the alpha version.

Yes, it’s like the “direct link” thing from Youtube - if you don’t have the link, you won’t find it. They did that to limit the number of early adopters to those who follow the game or Klei more closely.

So what’s the verdict so far?

I do not know what I am doing! Lot’s of digging and I like some of the cute animations; like how they snore when they sleep (reminds me of a kid pretending to be asleep).

My main problem is not knowing how to setup power for all the things you build at the very beginning. I was unable to build a research station until I finally realized I needed some metal and I could find it by hovering over everything with my mouse.