(Paint) Ballin'

So any paint ballers here? Not the NES video game version with the light gun; the real thing. You know, outside where bears live.

I’m getting back into it, but I haven’t played seriously in like 13 years. My paint marker sucked even 13 years ago, and the suckage has only increased in the intervening years. It has outlasted air cannisters. So, anyone got gun recommendations? Looking for something less than $200, doesn’t have to be full auto, and I’m OK with a mechanical trigger.

Thanks.

I was very active in paintball last year on a Rookie tournament team. I don’t play tourneys any more, but I go out every month or so to tourney practice just to keep the skills from dying completely.

I also write the user manuals for the paintball circuit boards in high-end electronic markers (just as a hobby and using no Freescale/Metrowerks resources, in case anyone from corporate is reading this), so I have some degree of knowledge about the technical aspects of paintball markers as well.

A decent paintball marker is one that will shoot accurately and consistently. For about $150, you can get a PMI Piranha STS G3 that fits the description.
http://www.pbreview.com/products/reviews/668/
http://www.pbreview.com/products/reviews/1059/
You can get all this stuff USED on ebay or from the www.pbnation.com buy/sell/trade forums for less.

A common problem with mechanical markers is chopped balls. Balls get chopped when you pull the trigger faster than the balls can be fed. This is because gravity is slow, and it’s possible to pull the trigger just as a ball is falling into the breech. When the bolt moves forward, it will chop the paintball in half and gum up the works with paint. You’ll have to field strip the marker to remove the bolt and stick a cotton swab through it to clean it properly. (We avoid this whole problem in electronic markers by using break-beam LED eyes. If the eyes don’t detect a ball snug in the chamber, the marker won’t fire).