Painting Miniatures - The very basics

I am going to start painting some miniatures on a low intensity, casual basis. I used to do it, and my results were always pretty middling. I’m just not an artist/steady hands guy. But I like it, so I’m going to renew the hobby.

Here is a very basic question that I do not think I have ever seen really answered (I’ve dug around on websites, looked at beginner painter stuff, etc.).

When painting and doing the base coating, do you generally work from inside out (i.e skin/flesh, then the layer of clothing/armor above that, then stuff outside of that like weapons, etc.)? Or do you work outside in (obviously the opposite)?

I’ve been trying to think through the answer intuitively, but I can’t come to a conclusion because I could make arguments for both. Inside out lets you start with the hidden stuff and then make the stuff on top of it, like studs on leather, etc. “pop” better without having the inside paint rub over part of it, while outside in would allow you to cover with the inside paint any outside paint that “leaked” to a lower level.

How about dark to light?

H.

The order I tend to do things is as follows:

First I do all the messy stuff - any area that’s likely to be difficult to paint without hitting the surrounding areas. Drybrushed textures or areas that are going to get heavy washes etc such as armour are good examples of this.

Then I tidy up any fallout from that if needed before blocking in the base colours on the rest of the figure. I tend to work from the inside out - so flesh then clothing, then cloaks/robes etc. I’ll block in the base colours first to get an idea of how the final scheme will hang together then go to town shading and detailing each area in turn. I’ll finish one area completely before moving on to the next.

I have a gallery of things I’ve painted over on my painting blog which also includes workthroughs and some guides to techniques.