Phoenix Wright

Is it as good as this commercial leads me to believe?

I didn’t bother watching the commercial, but I’m pretty confident in saying that it’s at least that good, if not better.

Seriously, it’s one of the best games on the DS. Also, it seems to be rare. Buy it if you can find it.

I just started playing it this week. It’s like a strange adventure game from the future. I give it thumbs up, but I can imagine that it won’t be everyone’s cup of tea.

I played through 3 cases and most of the 4th before I quit. I loved most things about the game but eventually it grew stale. I felt like I was reading, then reading, then reading some more. The video is not accurate - there’s no voice over - just text and lots of it.

The gameplay is good at times and at other times it’s… more reading. What I played was a solid B or B+ and I hope for a sequel they refine the gameplay a bit.

Definitely buy it if you see it. I traded my copy to someone but my local Gamestop has one copy just sitting there and it’s pretty tempting to pick it up.

So what we’re saying is, this game will really appeal to a certain faction of Morrowind players.

Morrowind doesn’t enter into it, really. This is a game that’s on a cartridge for a portable, not multiple CDs for a PC. Phoenix Wright doesn’t just plop mounds of static text on the screen either, it’s dialogue with animation, also broken up with frequent interactive sequences.

But to answer the question, the game is almost exactly like that TGS trailer. It and Osu! Tatakae! Ouendan! were my favorite DS games last year. They have similar personalities-- irreverent yet enthusiastic. It’s self-aware melodrama done properly-- cartoon characters in cartoon (but humanistic) situations, executed with lots of craft and soul.