Plasma TV trouble

My plasma TV is doing something strange. I getting verticle strips of random bright blue dots over one section. Its less than 25% of the screen. A few things I notce about it.

1. Its does not appear on any menus or test modes
  2. It does not appear if no inputs are plugged into the tv but it appears on all inputs
  3. Its more noticable when you first turn the TV.
  4. You can only see it in the black and blue like color areas

So any ideas?

I am not an expert but here is my guess.

If you are using component (The red, green and blue cables) it’s possible either the blue cable is damaged or something between the blue jack and the circutry is.

The only thing you could test yourself is use a known good cable. Take the cable you use for the red and switch it to the blue (on say a DVD player)

vertical strips are very strange. you can give it a shot and check avsforum, or maybe even call tech support.

Well, if it happens on all the inputs, it isn’t a component connection issue. The way you describe it, it sounds like bad pixels, except for the fact that you say it doesn’t show up on the menu graphics. There’s probably a bad circuit board somewhere related to the inputs. You should probably take it in to get it serviced. Hopefully you’re still under warranty and didn’t buy it online. :)

I’m away on travel this week and my wife called me today saying the TV is much worse. I got a warrenty from Sams club that says I can return it no questions asked and I’m probanly going to take them up on the offer. It appears that though the set has great specs, looks greeat and was a good price, its poorly designed with venting heat and the board that handles inputs then to get fried. Just an FYI, Daewoo apparently is pulling out of plasma TV market in the US and you can not get replacement parts.