Portland, I am Coming..,

So my oldest daughter lives in Beaverton and we are planning our first visit next month. We will be staying near Washington Square. She has asked for ideas as to what we might want to see. We will be there for 3 days.

Any ideas?

Museums, Powell’s, areas looking over the rivers, brew pubs and bistros?

Multnomah Falls is always a popular choice as it’s pretty easy drive from the west side, but there is a timer reservation currently for parking to be aware of.
Cannon Beach is also great to see, a coastline dominated by Haystack Rock.
Powell City of Books shouldn’t be missed if you’re a book lover (make sure to tour their rare book room).
Eating at any of the food cart pods is nice, as well as walking around near Pioneer Courthouse Square.
I’m also a Beaverton resident and most of the time my wife and I go into the city we use Tri-Met to avoid having to park in the more congested areas.

I live in Hillsboro, and the list of things I could offer is… significant.

So lets set some parameters: how much driving are you willing to do? What mix of indoor and outdoor activities? How much walking/ hiking do you want to do?

I just came back from a short camping trip to the coast. Right now is a great time because the resident grey whales are right by shore in Depoe Bay. The central coast is stunning, in general. Devils Punchbowl is super enjoyable. Those are all about 2-2.5 hours away, but well worth it.

You can also collect fossils at Beverly Beach right there.

Cannon Beach is a top destination on the coast, for a reason. Haystack Rock dominates the view, and provides some of the best tide pools. Its location as one of the quickest and easiest to reach beaches from Portland does help too.