Prepping for 3DS, best Nintendo DS games?

I’ve had a dsi since it launched but my nephews stole it for pokemon, so I’ve missed a lot of good releases. So what should I stock up on given:

-I prefer digital distribution
-I play mostly on my iPhone/ipad now
-I’m looking for mostly games not available on other systems
-quick pick up and play games mostly, 100 hour RPGs aren’t my focus
-cheap finds are good, but quality > quantity!

If you’re planning to get a 3DS around launch, forget about digital downloads for now. The e-shop for 3DS will be a software update in May, so you’ll be playing carts for a little while.

I’ll leave it to others to suggest specific games. I’m not a super prolific DS player; I probably can’t help you any more than metacritic can. :)

The DS was never big on digital distribution, so you’re not going to have much luck with that if you’re accustomed to using PSN or what-not.

Meteos: If you can find a copy of this early DS exclusive, snap it up immediately. It’s a charming and clever puzzle title that fits your criteria perfectly. No long, protracted campaigns or story, and a vastly customizable experience. Highly, highly recommended.

Advance Wars: Days of Ruin: A turn-based strategy game, this one packs a rather solid set of gameplay with a lengthy campaign (broken down into single missions that can be played individually), challenge missions, and a huge assortment of skirmish maps of all sizes that can be played against the AI (you can have five minute games or protracted multi-hour struggles depending on setup). Also includes a map editor. Very solid game as a whole if you’re into the genre, but harder to recommend if you’re not.

Mario Kart DS: It’s Mario Kart in portable form. You ought to know roughly what to expect from that, but it’s exclusive, it’s quite good, and you can most assuredly pick it up and play for a few minutes whenever you want.