Preventing the server to crash and burn at release

I wanted to shape and explain my idea a bit better so that I’m able to show more clearly how and why it can work. Just as an exercize.

Requirements: Obviously the idea is possible only if the programmers are able to implement it. From my point of view it’s nothing fancy but there are non-trivial parts. The biggest issue to solve is that the databases need to communicate between each other. Some of the data of a character will be moved (cut and paste, not simply copied) from a database to another and the problem is a possible data loss during the transition. Now I’m not a programmer but I imagine that it’s something solvable in a creative way, for example using a system similar to the journalized filesystems (ext3, XFS etc…). There shouldn’t be other problems since what I propose is simply based on the possibility of that operation/transition. So, once this problem is solved, the rest should work.

The goals: There are three different goals. The first is to regulate the load on each server/shard, so that the population is spread equally on the servers, avoiding overcrowded, crashing servers and totally empty servers. The second goal is to regulate the balance, so that the population is more even between the factions of a PvP environment. The third goal is to insert the previous two into an in-game mechanic/gameplay. So that this system is part of the frame of the game, within the frame of the roleplay and not just an Out Of Character mechanic based on the technical data coming from the math on the servers.

Plus there are positive side-effects, like the possibility to have finally a real global and massive environment without the need to encapsule strictly the players inside air tight spaces.