Problem with my router

Ok. I fucked it up. I don’t know what I did but I crashed it. :cry:

I was trying to upgrade the firmware (which I’ve done numerous times) and goofed something up because now it won’t respond.

It’s a Netgear RT314 router. On their site they say to attach a serial cable and connect through hyper-terminal but when I do I get ‘no response from remote system’.

Their instructions are here http://kbserver.netgear.com/kb_web_files/N100306.asp

I’ve never used hyper terminal before so I’m afraid I might be doing something wrong from that side. Or, I may have just cooked my fucking router when I was trying to upgrade the firmware. I tried to call customer support but the told me my router was end of life and no longer eligible for phone support and I would have to email tech support. I did, but I’m not holding my breath for them. My only other encounter with their customer support was years ago and I did not come away with a positive impression.

Any one have any idea about Netgear or hyper terminal?

Much appreciated.

Can you go through the process of upgrading the firmware again? If it’s just a bad bios flash, trying again might make a difference. If the new firmware is the problem, can you flash it back to the old firmware?

It doesn’t respond at all. I can’t telnet into it. So unfortunately I can’t get in to give it any instructions…

Well, I fixed the goddamn thing. Netgear’s tech help library is good, if your powers of deduction are good and your patience is limitless.

They have shit scattered all over their site. I had my router lock up and they have instructions to take care of it. But the instructions are not detailed enough and it skips about 6 very important steps, without which, your recover will fail.

I had to look in to ‘how to reset the the password’, then ‘how to rest to default’, then extrapolate the info and then use it as the missing steps in ‘lock up’.

What a pain in the ass.