Project Gotham Racing 3 - online play

I started playing PGR3 online last night for the first time. The way they’ve set it up is fantastic. Jumping on and getting into a race is really quick and easy. I’ve tried racing games online before and never had any fun due to everyone warping all around, but it’s been very smooth in PGR3 so far with only a little warping here and there. In fact, the only warping I saw was when everyone was ramming into each other and spinning out. I tried to avoid a pileup last night and going for what looked like an opening in the mess actually ran me right into a sideways car.

Which brings me to the main reason for this thread: Idiots. I’m sure some of it is due to people having poor connections and some is just plain ol’ bad driving, but almost every single race I participated in involved me having to deal with dirty drivers trying to ram me or spin me out by tapping me from behind. Not everyone was like this, but a surprisingly large number of them were. Actually, I guess it’s not all that surprising, but it’s still really aggrivating. If someone manages to spin me out at the start of the race, it’s pretty much guarranteed that I’m not going to catch up to the first place car. Most of the races were determined by who could avoid being smashed and get out ahead of the pack. Almost every one had the first one or two drivers finishing 10+ seconds ahead of everyone else because they all got taken out at the beginning.

I’m sure some people have no trouble with dirty racing. I mean, hey, you do what you can to win, right? I have no problem losing because someone’s a better, faster driver than me, but when most races come down to who can avoid the dum dums the best, it’s just not as fun. The clean races were a total blast, however. I just hope they continue to be enjoyable enough to offset the ones where I curse all humanity.

Also, does anyone not use the F50 in A class races? :P