Pronouncing 'str' as 'shtr' - Trend or Impediment?

Several years ago, I noticed a few people I worked with pronouncing ‘street’ as ‘shtreet’. I work as a bus driver, so this word got used frequently. Then, I began to notice this same thing in other words as well: ‘Stress’ pronounced as ‘shtress’, ‘steering’ as ‘shteering’, ‘stuck’ as ‘shtuck’, ‘string’ as ‘shtring’, etc.

But lately, I’m hearing a few professional newscasters and celebrities doing it as well, although I cannot find anything on YouTube to use as an example at the moment, which has made me wonder if this has actually become a trend, or if it is a shpeech impediment.

Looking online, I couldn’t find much, but this link addresses it, as does this one:

Oh, and here’s one more:
https://www.washingtonpost.com/lifestyle/magazine/gene-weingarten-admits-his-personal-shtruggle/2016/04/27/8ae99776-fcda-11e5-9140-e61d062438bb_story.html

Membership in the Sean Connery Impersonators Society has risen 1200%

I didn’t want to tell it to you but… your whole language is a collection of impediment!

This practice drives me up the wall. I’ve been noticing it for years, now.

The good news is that it’s not really pronouncing “st” as “sht.” It only occurs when there is an “r” following the “t.” Nobody is out there saying “shtop” or “shtand,” but they are using the lazy, alveoplalatal slide whenever there is an “r” in the mix, even in the case of adjacent words. So someone will talk about “thish tree over here.”

The bad news, of course, is that it’s everywhere, and it’s probably not going away.

Language evolves, shrug.

I have never heard this, bizarre. “Language evolves” largely because people are lazy and/or ignorant, is seems.

I think this is one of those things where things are always happening, but usually only linguists are aware of it. Like the Northern Cities Vowel Shift that got press a little while ago.

I think you mean “srug”, you lazy bum.