Python programming newbie question

I’m taking a python class and ran into an issue I don’t understand. I’m a total beginner.

This loop gives me the error: “variable is not defined”

mysum = 0

for count in counts:
        mysum = mysum + int(count.text)` 

It’s so maddening because I know I’ve done something similar before and it’s worked.

For context, I’m trying to parse some XML with ElementTree. I’ve got all the nodes selected and I want the loop to change the string into an integer and create a total.

I’m making great headway in this class, but I still tend to make simple mistakes.

Exactly what sort of data is in counts? Have you checked that it supports a .text property? If it’s already a string you should just be able to cast it directly with int(count).

Counts is a list of elements with memory addresses. At least, that’s what it looks like if I print it to the screen. I don’t know what to properly call it. It’s a list of XML nodes from ElementTree.

If I do print count.text I get the list of numbers I want.

Here is the solution I came up with (minus the code to get the URL). This works but the other didn’t. No idea why.

import xml.etree.ElementTree as ET

[ URL code]

counts = tree.findall('.//count')
print 'Count:', len(counts)

mylist = []

for count in counts:
    mysum = int(count.text)
    mylist.append(mysum)

print 'Sum:', sum(mylist)

Glad you figured out a workaround. As for figuring out the original source of the problem, can you post the full code? Does the error message not specify which variable it’s talking about or give a line number? And double-check your formatting – not sure if it’s just from copying it onto the board, but you’ve got that line indented 8 spaces and there’s a stray apostrophe at the end.

What was the full error you were getting? You’re weren’t presenting enough information. It feels like a typo.

It’s the line with mysum = mysum + int(count.text)

Here is the kooky error in Visual Studio:

Here is the full code: