Python

So is there any reason not to consider Python the perfect scripting language? I’ve been trying to get into it and I think I finally have a project that will keep my attention longer than “Hellow World” and porting my PHP apps as an exercise.

Book recommendations would be great also. I know what there is online, but I like reading stuff while on the crapper, the bus, between drive bys, etc.

Whitespace sensitivity. :P But aside from that, it’s pretty nifty, and I’ve used it for a few small scripts that would have been a lot more painful in Perl or bash. I’ve just been using O’Reilly’s “Learning Python” for a print tutorial and reference.

I’m not a web developer though, and a friend of mine who is used to like Python but now swears by Ruby On Rails, though I couldn’t tell you anything about it myself.

Python rocks. For books, I recommend “The Python Cookbook, 2e” to get an idea of what the language can do. I actually found “Learning Python” to be abysmal and much prefer “Python in a Nutshell”.

For Web stuff look at Django and TurboGears. I love the latter.

I use Python extensively in AI, natural language processing and web applications. Like Bacon I’m a big TurboGears fan (but I wish they would fix the logging configuration issues). 1.01beta just came out.

You can’t beat string processing in Python except with something like Perl or Lisp. Both of those languages have other severe drawbacks which usually keep them out of the picture.

As for books, there isn’t one that I keep coming back to regularly, so I don’t have a good recommendation there. I do recommend going to the Cheeseshop and just taking a look at what other people have done.

Print out the Library Reference and keep it under your pillow.

Yeah, it has problems. http://www.amk.ca/python/writing/warts.html