Recommendations for first time Batman comics

I’m interested in picking up some Batman comics/graphic novels. I’m more keen on storylines that follow his origin and early days and retain some sort of continuity as they progress. A friend recommended starting with Year One and then going with The Long Halloween and onward from there.

I’m no expert, so can anyone recommend where I should start and where I should go from there?

I would say “The Killing Joke” and “A Death in the Family” are worth reading…

And you certainly dont want to miss “The Dark Knight Returns”, even though every time I read it, it gets more dated…

edit to say -

But the two you mentioned are definitely good ones to start with. It really depends on what “role” you like for Batman. Do you like the detective, the crazy guy in a costume, or the superhero? If you asked my wife, she would say the best Batman ever was the one in the old Justice League International series, but most of the fans of the grim and gritty Batman of the past 10 years would completely disagree.

I think your friend is on the right track, although you might find that Batman, like most superheroes, has so much history, with false starts, do-overs, and epic stories that hinge on bits of continuity ephemera, you might get frustrated easily. Superhero stories work best when you’re always backtracking, and it seems like you’re exploring a tremendous cavern filled with endless possibilities, rather than going at it methodically and quickly realizing you’re walking down the same three halls of the funhouse, just with the locations of the rubber spiders and scary faces adjusted slightly.

That said: yeah, start with Year One, which is great.

But before the Long Halloween, try and get a hold of Batman: The Man Who Laughs, which is a one-shot by Ed Brubaker and Doug Mahnke about the first meeting of Batman and The Joker. It’s pretty decent and will fit in with the chono approach you’re trying.