RON : Ok I give up

Ok I give up. Maybe I am just a bad RTS player. I am playing the campaign as British on Easy level and my only two attempts at invading the Germans have both failed.

Both battles I had mountains of resources, 200 unit cap and extensive defenses.

Defending my existing cities is no problem - invading the enemy is another thing entirely. The Germans just seem to keep pouring on the units no matter how many I destroy. What the hell is going on ?

And how do I turn off this damned 90 minute time limit ? Man I hate time limits in games !

Does every campaign battle have a time limit ? Does every RTS game have to be a mad scramble for territory and resources ? Maybe I should stick to turn-based wargames.

These two battles cost me three hours of frustration. Not fun at all.

What speed are you playing at? I was getting destroyed until I started playing at slow. Now I play at normal with lots of pausing, but I knock it down to slow when it gets hectic.

I win fairly easily at normal(I think it’s called moderate) difficulty games and seem to be a roughly even match for hard(only played it once), or tough, or whatever they call it. Haven’t tried whatever is harder than that.

What’s your speed in the after game summary? I’m generally at 90. I was at like 40 until I got a better handle on the hotkeys. Tab is your absolute best friend.

One time the game got screwed up and gave me a 325 speed, which is like 5 clicks a second. I dunno what happened.

I can’t imagine ever running into the time limit. Even in grueling wars of attrition, once I survive the first 30 minutes of age advance I know I’m going to win. When it comes to surviving those slugfests, some tips-

1. Click on the units in a group while having a unit producer selected to have troops you produce automagically join that group. Every so often in battle, queue up some more meat for the grinder.