Shenzhen I/O, circuit building and programming by Zachtronics

New Zachtronics game incoming! Seems to be a successor to TIS-100, in that you write assembly code for a bunch of networked devices based on facsimile datasheets. Just with a higher variety of devices, with circuit design thrown in, and prettier graphics.

http://www.zachtronics.com/shenzhen-io/

Out in Early Access on October 6th.

Looks cool. I wonder how creative the game will allow you to get in the sandbox?

really? Writing assembler code is now a game ?? (1)

(1) I don’t think so!

Zachtronics’ motto should be “by engineers, for engineers”.

I’m in. ;)

I am an engineer, that’s why I never went too far in Spacechem, too much like work… and no pay check ;))

I am an engineer myself, and I love the Zachtronics games, even if I don’t play them as much as I should for pretty much the reasons you just mentioned. Still, they mesmerize me. :)

This is part of the clever masterplan to take real design problems, code them into a game, and let gamers solve them for free.

As someone who writes software all some of the day long, this seems way too much like work to me.

I graduated in Electrical Engineering. That video reminds me of the “fun” times messing with FPGAs and microprocessors in some of my classes. ;)

Still, I’m intrigued by the game. I’m such a nerd.

Same here. Although it is all day long for me. And I already didn’t enjoy writing Assembler back in the 90ies either (though part of it might be related to having to submit your code one day and getting a printed memory dump back after a crash the next day).

I don’t think anything can sell me on the final product.

Wendelius

I’m very excited for this. I’m an software engineer too, but I get to do far less coding than I would like at this point. I feel like the Zachtronics games have such an interesting way of making constraints that are totally normal problems in a professional environment feel instead like weird puzzles.