Shopping for Digital Video Cam

In the wake of Loyd Heilbrunn’s thread, here I go. Looking to purchase a digital video cam. Price needs to be like under $600 or so but otherwise I have no knowledge in the area. Basically I’d like something which does not use magnetic media; any digital format (flash cards, internal memory, whatever) is good. I do have firewire ports in my PC so cams with firewire ability are A-OK. Would like excellent quality but I don’t mind doing alot of post-production type stuff on the PC; i.e. I don’t need the cam to have a whole ton of features other than some intelligent anti-shake and lots of memory.

Suggestions? Thanks in advance.

“voltman” Fellini

Digital camcorders use tape for their main recording medium because memory sticks don’t hold enough data to be practical for good-quality video. Some camcorders do let you insert memory sticks, but they are mainly for storing still images, not video. I think you can fit a couple minutes of video onto an 8MB memory stick. This probably varies with the storage format and image quality settings.

Most camcorders have Firewire ports so that you can transfer DV data to your hard drive.

Since I don’t have kids, I haven’t taken a serious look at digital camcorders. But, start off reading the DV primer at
http://www.shortcourses.com/video/, then look at some of the reviews listed at http://www.dvspot.com. There’s some technical info about the DV format at http://www.adamwilt.com/

The industry phrase for camera-shake compensation is “image stabilization”.

I was hoping that with 128MB and 256MB sticks now this wouldn’t be as much of an issue. Shows you how much research I’ve done to this point, eh? NONE!

The industry phrase for camera-shake compensation is “image stabilization”.

I like “shaky cam”. Sounds more edgy. Or something.

BTW thanks for the links, I’ll get to readin’ tonight.