Six nights in Hawaii with a 6-month-old: yay or nay?

A couple friends decided to get married next month on Maui. Though I love Hawaii and would love to go, I’m concerned about taking my kid for such a long trip. He will be almost 6 months by the time we take off. Am I crazy for even considering going? If it were just a couple days, would it be easier or harder?

I think I’ve already made my decision, but I’d like some input. Stories about traveling with infants are welcome.

I have no experience with kids but if you’ve been to Maui before I’m sure you know what it’s going to be like. No night life, just a relaxed open day and you’ll probably want to get to sleep early anyway. Good match for kids, perhaps? That is, unless the wedding activities change things up a bit.

If you think the trip might be a bit much, you could always kennel him.

(Note: I do not have children myself)

Travel now while he’s little! Traveling starts to become a real handful around 9ish months when there’s more mobility, food needs, and growing pains. At 6 months, things are still relatively easy, especially if you’re still exclusively breast/formula feeding. Also, if you want some time to yourself, a lot of hotels and resorts have sitters or nannies available.

I don’t have any kids but would it really be wise to take such a young infant on a plane in which it could be exposed to god knows what? I would imagine that its immune system is still developing and whatever and you would be running the risk of it catching something that say if it were a year it might not bother it.

I dunno if it was me I wouldn’t do it but that might just be being over protective or whatever. It just sometimes you see people with these kids that are just months old running around all different places and shit. /shrug