So, who are you and what do you do?

Hey gang,
Been lurking here for a while and I have been enjoying the thoughtful and insightful posts.

I’m curious as to your (obvious?) connection to the gaming industry. Are you a Developer? Publisher? Gaming Journalist? Innocent Gamer? Jaded son-of-a-bitch?

Myself, I’m a Product Manager at DreamCatcher working on some of the upcoming “non-adventure” titles like Iron Storm, Hegemonia and Harbinger.

I just sorta drift around. Did a lot of writing as the PC Editor/Senior Editor at Gaming Age until I burned out. Now I do some work for the Xbox Mag in Australia, but I don’t do much.

I figured out a while back that I would rather play games than write about them.

Oh, and MechWarrior 4 is awesome, just had a great match online.

University of Alabama student, gamer, programmer, fanboy.

Gamer. Database Architect. Annapolis, Maryland.

Been gaming since Pong and the Atari 2600 and remember the golden era of Arcade gaming.

First “computer” was the TI99/4A.

First real computer was an IBM PC XT @ 8Mhz with 640k of RAM and a 10MB hard disk (I will never fill that up …).

Favorite genres: FPS, RPG, Action, Sports, Driving
Least favorite genres: Sims of most kinds, most RTSs

I am married with one son who is 14 and one dog who is almost 3.

– Xaroc

Edit: I am 34.

Nice thread. Hope you guys keep this going.

35 year old guy who makes a living, if you can call it a living, writing about games. Started out into flight sims and wargames.

Lives in Los Angeles. Swinging bachelor lifestyle, sans swinging.

Seriously into movies.

-Tom

39 year old game fanboy.

Do some work for Gamespy on the side.

Spend most of my time doing research in the health sciences.

Live in sunny and warm Gainesville, Florida where we await the “Zook” era now that Mr. Spurrier is coaching in DC.

Married, two daughters - Daughter #1 (13 years old) is into the Xbox and arcade racers while daughter #2 (three years old) enjoys driving the PC version of F1 2002.