[i]Dear Sentinels of the Multiverse…
I love you, but you and me together alone seems to be a really bad combination. I knew you were demanding, and wanted my full attention when we first got together, but when you slip something super-important in amongst all the little details, I start wondering exactly what you’re trying to get out of this relationship. It would be one thing if it was a +1 damage here, or a draw a card there, but what you did hurt me, and it cost me a Saturday night. If you really want this to last, I need to know you’ll work on being a little clearer next time, ok?
So I can’t be the only one who ever played against Citizen Dawn and didn’t realize she counted towards the Citizens needed to flip back from her immune side, right?
I had a pretty good game going with Citizen Dawn, Tempest, Haka, and Absolute Zero in the Ruins of Atlantis. I knew it was going to be a bit of challenge (despite playing on “easy” mode) because I had never used any of those decks before. I felt like I did pretty well with the rules for the first 30-45 minutes, and even properly included Dawn in the Citizen buffs (like the -1 damage Citizen), but when she flipped, things fell completely apart. I read the flip condition and calculated that there needed to be two Citizens in play, but totally forgot she counted as a Citizen, maybe because it seems weird to think of the villain as “in play”.
I got one Citizen in her cards the first round after she flipped, but for the next 5-6 rounds every Citizen I drew kept getting chomped by a Kraken, or crushed by a collapsing ceiling. So by the time I finally got two Citizens up (not including Dawn), I had 2-3 of her ongoings up and Tempest was dead. It didn’t help that I also completely misread the Citizen Dare text and assumed he blew up as soon as he was put in play. That one was definitely on me. After that I couldn’t keep up with all the damage and defeat was inevitable.
Still had fun though! Just hate that I probably could have won if I had simply gotten one bit of text read correctly.
Anyway, after I got done I went through the unofficial FAQ because I had a few questions pop up. That’s when I noticed the bit about her counting as a Citizen in play for the flip condition. /shakes fist
I did have one question for you SotM vets though. I’ve been playing that conditions in effect when a power is in play are frozen while that power is being played out. Simple example:
Citizen Dawn has two Citizens out. One is Citizen Anvil(?) that reduces damages to Citizens by one. He has one health remaining. Tempest uses his hailstorm ability that does two damage to all enemies. I have been treating it that Dawn and the two Citizens take 1 damage, and Citizen Anvil is killed, because I assumed the effects were frozen. However reading through the FAQ last night, effects change immediately. So with that one power, I could hit Citizen Anvil for one which kills him, then the other two would take two damage. Is that correct?