SQL question - join?

I’m studying SQL and I’ve got a question that hopefully someone can answer. I normally do multi-table SQL queries like this:

select table1.stuff,table2.stuff from table1,table2 where table1.field=table2.field

and it works fine for retrieving, say, one row of info from related tables. Note that I don’t use “join” in that query.

So now I’m studying “join” and I understand what joins, inner joins, left joins, and right joins are and what they do. Can anyone explain to me when you would possibly use them, or why? It seems to me that a query which returns more then you actually want, ie. rows that are returned even though they may not contain relevant data, is wasteful of resources. Why not build a more intelligent where clause in a query without “join” clauses?

Basically I’m looking for examples of when you’d use this as opposed to not using them at all (as my example above).

what happens when there isn’t matching data in table2 to match table1?

where table1.field=table2.field

now is:

where table1.field=null

So it will fail and you won’t get any data.

This is just one example where you would want to use a join.

Pull in all the data from table1, and the data from table2, where table1.field = table2.field

select table1.stuff,table2.stuff from table1 left join table2 on table1.field=table2.field

Why?? Say you have tables: Employee, and dependants.

You want to get a list of all potential attendants to an event; Employees and their dependants. With out the join, employees that have no dependants wouldn’t be in the result set.

The other joins exists because sometimes an equijoin can’t do the job. So sometimes it’s better to have one query that returns more rows than to require two queries to get all the required results.