Tabletop RPGs in 2022

@Razgon started last year’s thread with the Alien TTRPG by Free League, I immediately bought the game after seeing the pictures.

And this year at last, I get to possibly run the intro scenario twice. I’m using it as a Trojan horse to get members of my boardgaming group to try a RPG. There are dice to roll, maps on the table and secret agendas. I’m hoping they will feel right at home.

I got 11 replies from people interested in trying it, around half of them complete novices. Should be fun… if I can work out the scheduling logistics.

I’m all prepped for it. Just a few A3 maps to print still.

I’m hoping this year will see the return of more face to face play, allowing the GMs to have fun with physical props again.

I’m hoping to try to get into these more (well, at all, I’m quite the beginner) in 2022. Will definitely be keeping an eye on this thread.

I got the Avatar Legends RPG on order from their Kickstarter. I guess that launches this year, at least the pdf version will.

I’ve already gotten the pdf version of The One Ring, the Lord of the Rings RPG which is also by Free League. I haven’t tried it yet, but I’m always down for some low-magic fantasy.

I guess the elephant in the room is the next version of DnD that’s rolling out in bits and pieces with Monsters of the Multiverse being the first installment.

I hope you get to play. Lots of systems are very approachable and easy to learn. Pretty much all the rules a player needs to know are printed on a double A4 sheet in those folders. And the GM and experienced players are always happy to help newcomers. So don’t be intimidated. It’s all about having fun telling a story and rolling dice.

I didn’t back The One Ring, but it looks like another awesome Free League product. I was tempted. I couldn’t resist their other 2 Kickstarters though: