Tales of Graces F

I just started playing Tales of Graces F. It’s not bad; so far I like it better than any of the other Tales games I’ve played. Oh look, a miraculous girl with amnesia and strange powers :)

The combat system so far is easy but fun, consistent with past Tales games, but more fluid, with no need for grinding to level, and almost no need for grinding to acquire “crafting” materials, of which there are many. Money is actually a limited resource, though some of the crafting recipes craft salable but otherwise useless items, so it’s easy enough to turn time into money if you really want to.

My only technical criticism so far is that some of the “dungeons” are large enough that a map would be handy, and the only map available is a more or less useless world map.

This is the first tales game i’ve actually put some time in to, but i do like jrpgs.

I generally like it, but some things i don’t like:
-some of the maps involve you going through maze like areas that all look the same. These are hell because you keep going in circles and everything looks the same.
-I don’t like the loot system. The game seems based around everything you kill dropping useless crap. You can use the “crafting” system to merge useless crap in to mediocre crap. Then you can merge the mediocre crap in to unknown crap. Then you can… An hour later you have something decent, maybe. Too many clicks and too much of a black box. This could have been much simpler and more effective. Monster drops 3 purple essence. Crafting a gem of protection takes 6 purple essence and 3 green essence. Simple, easy to understand and only takes a single conversion from dropped tokens to actual loot. Yes, the current system is a bit more realistic seeming, but it just doesn’t work out too well gameplay wise.