The Baffler

http://www.thebaffler.org/

I love this magazine.

Example: The I, Faker article.

I was a staff writer at The Business Journal of Central New York, and my job was slowly driving me crazy. When called upon, I drafted special sections on annuities, offered tips on executive gift-giving, and wrote brightly about business prospects in Syracuse–whose economy had been in freefall for the last decade. I was a hack and I knew it. What’s more, I had come to see my hackwork as not just flimsy and inconsequential but insidious. One article on a welfare-to-work program was 100 percent free of interviews with any actual workers; the publisher praised it for being balanced. Like Onondaga Lake, located just upwind from where I wrote, my articles not only smelled a little peculiar, they polluted the air around me. They were toxic.

So he started inventing fake personas to write Swiftian letters to the editor, parodying his boss’s pro-capital economic views. The boss loved them so much they took over the opinion section, bumping his boss’s column.

The highlight:

Believing that satire requires a certain amount of intentional mislabeling, I set out to translate the text of a torture manual used at the School of the Americas into the language and rhetoric of a manager’s how-to. With very few changes–substituting “employee” for “subject,” for instance–the piece began to look more and more like an advice column. Now published and with nothing whatsoever to announce it as satire, it lies in wait, looking and reading like just another article. In The Business Journal it is oddly at home.

T. Michael Bodine, “Don’t Get Caught Being a Weak Manager,” The Business Journal, November 10, 1997.