The coming end of Anandtech?

Warning, speculative and pointless drama ahead!

I’ve been checking the site out for the last 6 months waiting for the announcement that Anand is retiring and moving on to some PR/technical job with Intel (or some other chipmaker).

Two years ago Anandtech had reclaimed its place as one of the premier hardware sites. They seemed to be on the cutting edge of the transition from PC to mobile in the tech review world, Anand was very interested in mobile chip technologies and their constant improvement and commoditization, he was having interviews with Senior Intel heads, ARM and AMD, Brian Klug was on the cutting edge of mobile phone reviewing. They uncovered widespread and persistent benchmark cheating among smart phone manufacturers. Brian’s and Anand’s last mobile show together at MWC in February 2014.

And the site has basically been run by other people since then.