The Courier: a spy movie that isn't, actually, about spies

I just watched Cumberbatch and Mrs Maisel in The Courier, a cold war movie about a UK businessman (Cumberbatch) recruited by MI6 and the CIA to be a courier for intelligence gathered by a high-level GRU (sovient spy agency) agent. He’s a total newb, but willing, and the connection he forms with his contact is interesting on a few levels; they become friends, but also have to appear to be business friends because the Soviets are definitely watching them, and … you know, spy stuff is cool. :)

This movie does a good job of NOT cranking up thriller/suspense dials just for the hell of it. It is pretty good at doing subtle menace (a cigarette-based scene is a standout) that makes everything tense, and generally avoids dumb cliches. Performances are excellent throughout, with Cumberbatch a real standout (and his wife is amazing, too!).

As me to the list of people that enjoyed The Courier. Watched The Spot Who Came In From The Cold recently after re-reading the novel. Forgot how much I enjoyed both of those.

I think I have to leave that autocorrect.

Obviously spy who came in from the cold

What struck me about The Courier – and apologies for appropriating the thread’s title when I moved these posts – is that it’s actually about homosexual relationships in societies that are hostile to homosexuality. The whole dance between Cumberbatch and Ninidze plays out like a kind of courtship. I mean, how many spy movies have two men going to a ballet and being deeply affected like that? And I’m not even making the case that they’re gay, which is subtext if anything. But I am making the case that the story uses the backdrop of the Cold War and the traditions of spycraft as a backdrop for its story about a forbidden relationship between two men. The facade they have to put up, the meaningful glances, the maneuvering with their wives. If that’s not a message about homosexuality in the olden times, I don’t know what is.