The General Magic the Gathering Thread

How is there not a dedicated thread for one of the best things mankind has ever made?

I’ve been playing MtG since 1994 when I graduated high school and many of my real life friends and I still play (including a few members on this very board). I got my son into it when he was 9 or so and now he’s building his own decks, buying his own cards, and kicking my own ass.

Every time a new set is coming out I keep wanting to come to Qt3 to talk about some of the awesome cards, strategies, or crazy new mechanics but I don’t really know if anyone around here is into MtG (or if they are, if they still play). So, I figure I’ll get a thread rolling so I at least have a place to shout into the void when I want to talk card strategy with someone.

I will kick start things with an amazing moment from a game I had with my son last night.

So let me walk you through this - it’s actually pretty simple, but it was a combo I had never encountered before and didn’t even know my deck was capable of it! So, this is the 4th turn in the game. On turn 3 I had put my third land down, and cast my first creature - Psychatog, a creepy looking little 1/2 whose ability is to allow me to (at any time) discard a card and give the psychatog +1/+1 until end of turn. Not usually a great use of a card in your hand, but in a pinch it can be handy, especially if you have some cards stuck in your hand you just can’t cast and know you won’t be able for a long time. The real reason he’s in my deck is you can also remove cards from your graveyard to also give him +1/+1 and while that may not seem huge, when you have him on the table in the late game and attack with him, I’ve won many games by suddenly making him from a 1/2 to a 9/10 or something and killing all the things that blocked it at the cost of cards in my graveyard/hand I don’t care about.