The Grand Tour -- Top Gear 2.0 on Amazon Prime

Hitting Amazon Prime on a weekly basis starting November 18.

— Alan

Looking forward to this, hopefully the move to Amazon gives them some new impetus and the extra budget is spent well.

Might final get me to sign up for prime.

Same here. I already get the free 2 day shipping (from my brother’s membership), but this will be the first time for Prime video. Didn’t they announce that they’d do a monthly option now, instead of having to pay for a year? I wonder if that will interfere with my membership on my brother’s thingie.

This debuted tonight! About to watch it!

Good first episode. If you enjoyed Top Gear I think most will like this show, at least the first one as they don’t all drop at once. The one skit with the celebrities didn’t quite land but I liked the rest of it. The three “super cars” at the center of this episode were pretty awesome.

Yeah that was fun. It’s a little less stuffy than the original. I’m new to Internet television shows so it was different for me.

It was nice to watch the team back in action. I will miss Star in a reasonably priced car, but watching celebrities die as they try to get to the show could be a decent replacement. Also, I like “The American” as a replacement for The Stig. Very different.

This week’s Namibia special is exactly the kind of trip that’s my favorite part of Top Gear, so I’m glad it’s continuing in The Grand Tour. It’s the kind of place that’s fascinating to see, even though I would never want to go there myself. I watched the first half. Watching those dunes and the ocean was fascinating. So many things remind us that we live in a small world these days, but watching specials like this where they had to drive so far and so long just to get back to remnants of civilization reminded me that it’s still a big world we live in.