The Joshua Tree or Achtung Baby?

I listened to both today and I still can’t decide which one I like better.

I voted for The Joshua Tree, but my all-time favourite U2 album is The Unforgettable Fire.

I’d take War over either of them.

I’ll be the first to chime in with “U2 is terrible. Terrible.”

I love War. It’d be #3 on my list behind these two.

Yeah their recent stuff I’d definitely agree. But when I was a freshman in college and The Joshua Tree was released… it was real man, you know?

Had to go with Achtung Baby - when I was in college it seemed all I listened to for the longest time was that, BloodSugarSexMagik and Ten. Man, I loved all those albums so much and now I can’t even bear to hear them.

I clicked on this thread just to write that.

Someone needs to go through the archives and dig up every band thread ever and chart how long it took for someone to swoop in and hate on said band. What’s the mean # of posts it takes? What’s the longest it’s ever taken? The shortest (obviously going to be post 1 or 2)?

The more people have heard of a band, the greater the chance there’s hate.

If I told you about this fabulous band from Austin in the early 90’s called “The Hit,” and about what a great band they were and what an awesome show they put on and all that… no one would get the joke, because nobody’s fuckin’ heard of them.

It’s like Pogue Mahone says, though–the more and longer you listen to some bands, the more burnt out you get on them. I have just about every U2 album made up until, I dunno, 2001, and every R.E.M. album made until '96 or something, and honestly, every time a song comes on from either of them on the radio now, I just about break my wrist in my haste to change the station. They really don’t have anything to say to me now, and what they said to me then has been overplayed to the point I can’t hear it.