The Last Federation - New From Arcen (Chris Park)

Has anyone else been keeping an eye on this? It gets released tomorrow (Friday). From what I can tell it’s a game of real-time diplomacy and turn-based combat, where you play the last of some alien race trying to coerce 8 or 9 other civilizations into forming the federation of the title, either through cultivating friendship and loyalty, conquering the holdouts, or staying in the shadows and playing “let’s you and him fight”. It seems to borrow pretty heavily from Drox Operative (at least in terms of look and diplomacy).

I like the idea, and the inter-species relationships appear to be quite complex, but without a lot of randomization I don’t know how much replayibility it will have.

Linky: http://www.arcengames.com/w/index.php/tlf-features

Looks interesting.

I thought it had a lot of randomization?

I just started playing it yesterday and I’m liking it. There will be a good amount of randomization, from what I understand. I’m gonna try and put a video together tonight, but we did do a podcast about it a while back too if that helps.

I have it on my wishlist and am not-so-patiently waiting for tomorrow.

In my experience, Arcen have great game ideas that turn into average games. Hopefully this one sticks to “great” on both sides of the equation.

That’s what I always walk away with. However, since I am the sort of player that almost always goes for a diplomatic victory (when available) in my strategy games, this could be right up my alley. I suspect I’ll enjoy it more than their other titles.

Looks like Drox Operative with turn based combat.

Designer Chris Park demos the game and gets his ass kicked.

I just became a lot more interested.

Grand strategy and turn-based combat has me extremely interested. But this video made no sense to me. I think he did a poor job explaining the basics.

This is available now on GoG. I’m downloading now.