The latest shitstorm in PC hardware reviewing

I’m a professional game reviewer and I don’t hold my chosen field in particularly high esteem. I find that people read game reviews most often to confirm their own opinions, to look at screenshots, and for entertainment. Deciding whether or not to buy the actual game seems rather low on the list for many - marketing has chosen for them a long time ago. Of course, it can be argued that game reviews are just the final phase in marketing a game, and from my experience I wouldn’t doubt that.

Some of this holds true for hardware reviews, but with key differences. For starters, the major items in hardware reviews are graphics cards and CPUs, both markets being dominated by two competitors who manage a relative performance and feature parity for successive generations. The rivalry and competition is intense in ways that game publishers cannot match. It is very personal for both companies since they are fighting head-to-head, rather than with a series of competitors. People buy many games per year, they don’t look at who the publisher is too often - they look at what the game is. People buy one graphics card or one CPU for their computer, and they do care who makes it. Furthermore, a publisher releases many games in a year, most very different from each other. Graphics and processor makers release one product per year or once every several years - and everything else they sell is based off this single design. Thus, the reputation an item gets before its release is vital - it will affect its starting position in a competition that will last the next year or even years.