TV - Hiding Mute Icon

Recently, I have got my hands onto an Acer AT3220, a 2 years old 32" lcd tv. The image quality is okay, but the built-in speakers are extremely poor as they have this low humming noise constantly. I have dug around the internet and this seems to be a common problem. I guess this is what I get for paying virtually nothing.

Not willing to give up so easily, I found out that the humming noise disappears when the mute is on but the mute icon would stay on the screen as long as it is muted. So here I seek your help, how can I hide the mute icon while keeping the speakers mute?

Extra info
-“Disable Speakers” is not found in the settings.
-No headphone output.
-At volume 0, the humming sound persists.

And dialing the volume down to 0 doesn’t do it?

At volume 0, the humming sound persists.

Clip the wires going to the speakers?

In that case I agree with Talisker. The icon is there by design and I can’t see how to remove it - cut the wires.

I am a total noob in this area, sorry.

Does that mean I have to open the chassis and cut the wire connecting to the speakers?

Cutting the wire would be my last solution. I am looking for something more in the softmod side. Possibly via the service menu. Problem is that I can’t even find the service menu on the net :(.

I have a similar problem with my older model Olevia LCD. Unfortunately, I can’t offer any advice on how to fix the problem though.

Goof around with the other sound settings, like switching to mono, or…um…nope, I got nothing.
There are audio line out connectors for you to redirect the sound to a receiver or something?

There’s an easy solution if you have a good drill. PM me for it; I can’t discuss it openly.

Cover the mute icon with a piece of masking tape or some liquid White-Out, problem solved! No more mute icon!

Turn on CC.

Now you have a bunch of annoying text to distract you from your mute icon.