Use Access as a front-end for updating SQL server database

Most of what I need to do with SQL Server I can do by importing Excel spreadsheets. But occasionally it would be easier to add a few rows manually, instead of importing a spreadsheet with only a few rows. I’d like to use Access to do these kinds of updates, so I can just have a GUI to work in. I’m still learning SQL and not that proficient in the query editor.

I can create a table in my SQL Server database and link to it from Access. But in Access I want to be able to select from a lookup, so I don’t have to type in each entry every time.

And there is the problem.

I can easily make an Access database with a lookup that gets its data from another table, but I can’t do that to the linked table in Access, because the linked table has to be modified in SQL Server. From Access all I can do is manually add data by hand. I’ve tried various things to get myself where I want to go, but nothing is working that well. I thought I’d ask here for ideas.

Here is what I’ve tried:

• Creating relationships in SQL Server, but honestly all the FK and PK stuff is hard to figure out. I still haven’t been able to accomplish a relationship like the one I have in my Access database. In fact, I’m not even sure what a success looks like in SQL server, because it’s not the same as working in Access. Usually a SQL server has some sort of Web UI front end for making the updates.

• Creating the tables and relationships in Access, then importing it all into SQL Server, but the relationships didn’t import correctly (or probably I didn’t set up the import correctly).

Have any of you done this and can you give me some guidance?

Here is what I am after:

• Update a linked SQL table from Access.
  • Select from a list of predefined entries on the Access side (for stuff like “author name” and “title”).
  • Manually add other times (like number sold, royalties)

Random thoughts: