Viewtiful Joe

If there’s another topic already, let me pre-emptively apologize to the post nazi’s who have taken over for Wumpus.

This game … rocks. I’ve never written that before. (I found it hard to write, pun not intended, but it fits.) It’s a side scroller. I’m thrilled about a side scrolling beat 'em up. What? Is it 1993 again? I love the art, the style, the pacing, the action, the powers, and I really love when the 2D artwork bends around a corner. Why is that a thrill? Why is the bullet time mode so cool? It’s been done… I’ve seen it before… but this is awesome. I just beat the crap out of the helicopter boss. I pounded the hell out of that thing. I’ve pounded the hell out of countless things in my gaming career… but this was really cool.

Thank you Erik Wolpaw. I had no idea this existed until you spotted it about six months ago. I’ve been watching it ever since, based pretty much on the name alone.

Let me know when you get there if you see any reason to plod through Episode 6. That’s what derailed it for me. It was a great time up to that point.

Yep, it is good, though it gets difficult pretty quickly.

I think the best thing about Viewtiful Joe is that the words BULLET TIME BULLET TIME weren’t streaming through my head while I played it. While Max Payne and Dead to Rights felt more like their style’s purpose was for the bullet… point on the back of the box, Viewtiful Joe does a good job of incorporating a feature so well that you don’t have to think about it.

But otherwise, too damn hard… One of these days I’ll devote a few more frustrating hours to it, or I’ll suck up my pride and try Kid’s mode.

I like the game fine, but the gushing reviews have me a bit mystified.

Ok, so its a side scrolling beat 'em up with some fairly flashy graphics… and???