Watching DVDs on X360 and HD LCD

I have tried the component (720p) connection between my 360 and lcd as well as the vga (1024x768) connection. The component looks considerably better even though supposedly it only allows 480p for DVDs . I was anticipating that the vga would look better as supposedly it upscales to 720p over vga. The vga picture looks grainy compared to the component picture. I’m new to HD and have only had the 360 for 4 months. Maybe there is something I’m missing for getting the best picture.

I have heard reports of the 360’s VGA connection having a “wahed out” image quality, not sure if that is what you’re experiencing but some people prefer component.

I don’t know why you’re using such a low resolution for the VGA. Is that the native resolution? If so, ouch.

It seems to vary by TV / monitor: some seem to have better component than VGA inputs, for whatever reason. If possible, it’s best to try both if you can.

The 360 is horrible for DVD playback to an HDTV. I think it does try to upscale, it just sucks at it. Ask Robert Heron for a better answer. I think he said they could fix it via firmware, and when they did, VGA would be the better connection as it wouldn’t limit upscaling.

Maybe that is my problem. My native resolution is 1366 x 768. I don’t remember there being a closer option on the 360s settings. The LCD in question is LG 37LC2D.

I just switched DVD playback to my 360 over my DVD player. It looks much better.

My DVD player is a few years old now, and only does 480p. So, my HDTV is doing the upscaling of the image to 1080i (or 720p?). Versus the 360, which does it’s own upscaling of the DVD to 1080i. The 360 looks better in my case.

Both are using component.

Honestly, this HD stuff is SUCH a pain in the ass. “I just want it to work an look good.” HAH!

You should definitely have 1360 x 768 as a VGA option. Stupid question, perhaps, but are you sure you’ve set your X360 for widescreen mode?