We have never talked about Spirits. OooOooOooo...

So we’ve talked about beer, and we’ve talked about wine, but we’ve never talked about spirits!

I’ll admit to being a noob here. I bought a bottle of Cognac a few weeks ago and enjoyed that quite a bit, and I bought my first bottle of Scotch today (Glenfiddich 12), and I’m liking it as well, though maybe not quite as much as the brandy.

So what’s your favorite liquor? Your favorite cocktail?

Speak!

I love Tequila. Love. It. I love it so much that the only beer I ever enjoyed was called Tequiza, and was Tequila-flavored.

That said, as much as I love it, we’ve had a very on-again, off-again relationship.

Happy Halloween? 👻

I’m an equal opportunity booze snob.

Since you liked the Cognac, I highly recommend picking up some Armagnac. It’s also a French brandy, but is typically much, much cheaper for equivalent quality.

Thanks for the tip! I’ll keep an eye out for that. I was aware of its existence, but didn’t know it was any less expensive.

@BrianRubin I’m thinking Tequila will be next on my list. Any particular (and sub $50) bottle I should be looking at?

I have discovered I am a big fan of scotch, since I had a glass of 18 year old Oban for my birthday a few years back. Yes, I need yet another expensive habit.

If you don’t mind I’m just going to read all of your posts in this thread in Bender’s voice.

Man, that’s tough. The best I’ve had is Patron and Don Julio.

The best rum I ever had, and I usually find rum too sweet, was Vizcaya. It’s from Cuba. I haven’t seen it in stores anywhere, incredible stuff.

It looks like you could possibly buy it online from this site:

Only ships to select states, but mine is on there.

I love the 21 Balvenie.

Lagavulin, anyone?

Oh, hell yes.

For budget friendly intro tequila, I recommend Espolòn reposado.

One of my personal favorites

Will monitor this thread for Secret Santa gift ideas.