"We shape our tools, and thereafter our tools shape us" -- Customizing and Creating Game Controllers

Anyone here get into customizing or creating gaming controllers? Let’s have a thread about the process of designing, building, and refining them, and for showing off the results.

As I mentioned in the GotM thread, I have gone down a major rabbit hole of hobbyist electronics over the last year or so. I’ll credit / blame the worlds of ergo-mechanical keyboards and alternate keyboard layouts for flipping a switch in my brain to start thinking critically about the tools we use for interfacing with electronics.

Not ready to show the main project I’ve been working on yet, but I can start out with a couple of smaller modifications I did along the way.

Last fall, I went on a shmup kick, and decided to try out an arcade stick for them, as that’s what they are designed for (I have lots of experience with KBM and gamepads, but never spent much time in the arcades). This 8bitdo stick seemed like a solid starter, and I found the form factor novel and fun. But after a month or two, I began to get annoyed with the buttons feeling a bit mushy and the stick needing too much time to travel from one side to the other.

(before)

Rather than shelve it or buy another model, I realized that both of those components were actually not hard to replace. So after research, I ordered a pack of Sanwa buttons, and a Seimitsu LS-56 stick, which came highly recommended for shmups.

The buttons turned out to be really easy to replace. Once the case was open, it was just a matter of sliding off a paired wire connector, and popping them out of the socket, then doing the reverse with the new button.