Weak WiFi?

Hi guys. I’ve been trying to set up a home WiFi network between my desktop and my laptop. The WiFi router I have is a Dell branded Ornicon/Lucent RG-1000 and my laptop has a Mustek 22mbps Wireless Lan PCMCIA card. I think the output of the RG-1000 is only 11mbps. Anyway, while I’ve gotten the two devices “talking” to one another, the laptop seems to really have a hard time picking up the WiFi when they are doing anything besides sitting right next to each other. Moving 20 feet away from the router, the laptop basically completely loses the signal with no blocking walls. Since this is my first time attempting this, I’m puzzled by the cause. Could there be some interference of which I’m not aware? Is there some sort of logic towards placing the RG-1000 optimally? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

you may need some of this:

http://www.j-walk.com/other/wifispray/

Wifi is radio. Its wierd. See if you can find another card and try that to see if works better. Try rotating the wifi access port. Try standing on your head.

Okay, nothing I’ve tried works. So what are my options here? Does the 802.11 g have a better broadcast range? What if I wanted to get a broadcaster with an excellent range - what would you recommend?

802.11g has a much higher broadcast range.

It sounds to me more like a problem with the hardware than the Wi-Fi. I don’t see any plausible reason for no connection at 20 feet besides hardware failure; it’s my understanding the straight broadcast is distance of 802.11b exceeds 100 feet, with no walls.

802.11g is supposed to exceed 500 to 1000 feet, if memory serves me. I haven’t looked at the specs in a while though.

Anyways, Mustek and Omicron. Ugh.

Go to Best Buy (or whatever place sells this that is palatable to you) and buy a DLink or Microsoft router and PCMCIA card.