Weird maddening random disconnections

I’m in Vancouver and use Telus for DSL. I’ve been using them for about four years and nearly three years in my current location. Roughly two months ago I began experiencing random but persistent disconnections. These are the characteristics:

• disconnection can happen anytime without warning, morning, afternoon or night
• disconnections happen on a consistent daily basis, anywhere from 2-3 times a day or more
• disconnections will last as little as 10 seconds or up to 10 minutes or so
• the DSL will automatically re-establish the connection without my intervention
• a few times I have released/renewed my IP when the connection hadn’t re-established itself after a few minutes; this consistently restores it
• the link light on the modem (and router) will stay ON as if the disconnection isn’t registering with it
• nothing requiring the Internet will work: IRC, Trillian, web browser, e-mail, games, etc. The LAN (when router is connected) is unaffected.

Here’s what I’ve done, to no avail:

• swapped out all CAT5 cables
• swapped out the telephone cable
• tried with modem plugged directly to NIC and through router (on router, both PC’s on the LAN will lose connection to the Internet at the same time)
• re-installed all relevant drivers
• checked for viruses/spyware with multiple programs
• reformatted and re-installed OS (WinXP w. SP1)
• had a tech exchange my 3Com Homeconnect modem with a newer Dlink model
• had same tech check the line outside the house (it seems fine)
• had tech support switch my DSL connection to a new port yesterday (I’ve had two disconnections since this was done).